digital technologies · innovation · teaching and learning

Week 2 Professional Experience Update You can’t always get what you want.

Cryptic title I know. Well it’s true. You can’t. Not unlike my colleague Sarah’s experience my week has also had its challenges….sickness! My mentor fell terribly ill and as she left for the warmth of her bed, so did my access to most of the ICTs. It wasn’t until Wednesday afternoon that I even knew that there were iPads in the school for class use. when I did learn this, it was from an intern who was using them for her teaching experience so they too were not accessible (well for me anyway). So what was I to do?  Well I knew I’d have lab time scheduled later in the week and the students would be transforming their knowledge from the previous weeks lab session into their life cycle diagrams so I knew I’d at least have that.

What I gained from this unfortunate experience was a crash course in managing behaviour and a glimpse into the trials and tribulations of a relief teacher. I learned that you need to be able to think on your toes. For example I had planned for the students to view and excerpt from the Gruffalo’s Child mini movie. We were going to talk about the vocabulary the author (Julia Donaldson) used to paint a picture and then have a go at flipping a simple sentence, adding some wow words and making a super sentence. So without my engaging ICT component, out came Mrs B’s storytelling skills, the voices, facial expression and actions with the express purpose of pulling the children in and getting them involved….and it worked! I had children modelling expressions and actions depicted in the story, we were laughing and having fun while learning. The resulting super sentences were just that-SUPER. We shared them as a class and gave feedback. I’m not even sure if it would have gone so well if I hadn’t have been left to my own devices. It built my confidence, and it set the tone for my teaching for the next four days without my mentor and ICT access, and now I’m here writing this post, reflecting on an amazing week, pretty much without ICTs.

I’m am looking forward to implementing my final week teaching with ICTs. My plans include- enhancing the learning of Spelling contractions with a video or two. Using this weeks lab time to have the students reflect on their technology assessment bug models using ICT. I’m gathering photos of their models and creating a folder where the students can reflect on their creations and their peers can comment and give feedback on each others models based on a criteria. I’m taking the PBL (positive behaviour) session and focusing on calling out and speaking over others using a read aloud Youtube clip of My Mouth is Volcano because I can’t put my hands on a copy of the picture book and it is so appropriate for these students.  Finally, I’m continuing my introduction into repeated addition using a PowerPoint I created in week 1.

I’ve really enjoyed this week even without ICTs. As the song says, “You can’t always get what you want but if you try sometimes, you get what you need.” – Rolling Stones (1969). What I needed was a real world experience of life throwing a curve ball at you and you striking at that ball as hard as you can and I got it!  On to week 3.

Natalie

image courtesy of pixaby.com

 

Leave a Reply

