digital technologies · innovation · teaching and learning · Unplugged Learning

But wait, there’s more. Unplugged Learning

As I was finalising my last post this evening, about being unplugged from ICTs in the classroom this week due to teacher illness, I was searching for an image to compliment my post and I came across a website I’d like to share. CS UNPLUGGED: computer science without a computer. Perfectly appropriate due to my experience this week. CS UNPLUGGED is a website that promotes computer science activities without a computer. The lessons are downloadable, printable and easy to follow.

My son and I completed the Binary Numbers activity (the first in the Data related lessons) and we were engaged and enjoying the experience, even Dad joined in. You can see DJ aged 8 in the featured image above completing a code cracking activity using Binary numbers. I would suggest to my colleagues in this time of teaching and learning to consider exploring the activities offered on this website.

Best wishes for next week.

Natalie

image: Bloggers own

2 thoughts on “But wait, there’s more. Unplugged Learning

  1. Hi Natalie,

    Thank you for this blog post. Science is an area of the curriculum that relies on Information Communication and Technology (ICT) heavily to make exciting and interesting. I remember when I was in primary school and even high school, ICT was not a resource in the classroom. Back then I did not find science as interesting as I do today. On my Professional Experience, i had to teach space science and ICT was heavily used, was a great way to help kids understand deeper and expand their visual concept on what space looked like, other than the night sky. We looked at Earth from the Internation Space Station (I.S.S) and the kids loved how we could look from way-way above down on Earth while we were sitting in the classroom. Was a great carrot dangler for them to finish their work early.

    Thank you for providing a useful resource we can use in the classroom, that on days that are inevitable where ICT just does not want to work. Having a back up in our teaching tool bag is great. Definitely, what collaboration is all about, we are all in the same boat why not share, no need to fight against each other.

    Like

    1. Hi Jacinta,
      Thanks for the comment. I agree wholeheartedly about the advantages of teaching space science with ICTs such as web links to the ISS. That is transformative learning. Recently we did a PD at the school I work at and activities similar to those offered through CS UNPLUGGED offer HOTS opportunities similar to experiences when students are actually engaging with technology and as you said there are times when technology comes crashing down and we can’t do anything about it.
      Enjoy you final week.
      Natalie

      Like

Leave a Reply

